» «
Nine Seton Hall Athletes Earn Arthur Ashe Sports Scholar Awards

SOUTH ORANGE, N.J. - Nine Seton Hall University student-athletes have been awarded 2009 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Awards. Established by the publication Diverse: Issues in Higher Education in 1995, this award is presented to undergraduate student-athletes of color who have excelled in academics and athletics, and are active in their community. 


John Ramos (Hamburg, N.J.), a junior on the track and field team, and Spencer Lawrence (Monroe Township, N.J.), a sophomore on the soccer team, have earned First Team honors. Second team selections include sophomore Nalin Bennett (East Syracuse, N.Y.) of the softball team and junior Liza Chu of the tennis team. Three Third Team recipients are sophomores Ke’Aira Dickerson (Wilmington, N.C.) and Mayo Alao (Aurora, Colo.) of the track and field team and sophomore men’s soccer player, Kurt Cameron (Bronx, N.Y.). Sophomore Erika Fitzpatrick (San Pedro, Calif.) of the track and field team was named Honorable Mention. 


For the second consecutive semester, 101 Seton Hall student-athletes were named to the Dean’s List for the Spring 2009 semester. These student athletes received the honor by earning a Grade Point Average of 3.400 or higher. The announcement was made by Seton Hall University on Thursday.


Fifteen of the seventeen Seton Hall athletic teams are represented on the Dean’s List and ten teams, up from eight teams in the Fall 2008 semester, earned a 3.000 GPA or higher. Overall, among the men’s teams, the golf team earned the highest GPA for the Spring semester with a 3.614, while the volleyball team earned the highest GPA among women’s teams with a 3.646.  


2009 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Awards:

Spencer Lawrence- 1st Team Men’s Soccer, sophomore, Finance major

John Ramos- 1st Team Men’s Track and Field, junior, Marketing major

Nalin Bennett- 2nd Team Women’s Softball, sophomore, Psychology major

Liza Chu- 2nd Team Women’s Tennis, junior, Finance major

Ke’Aira Dickerson- 3rd Team Women’s Track and Field, sophomore, Advertizing Art major

Mayo Alao- 3rd Team Men’s Track and Field, sophomore, Political Science major

Kurt Cameron- 3rd Team Men’s Soccer, sophomore, Management major

Erica Fitzpatrick- Honorable Mention Women’s Track and Field, sophomore, Marketing major