» «
Jenkins, McCarthy Earn ABCA All-East Region Honors

June 15, 2016

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Senior Derek Jenkins (Annandale, N.J.) and sophomore Shane McCarthy (Fair Haven, N.J.) were named to the 2016 ABCA/Rawlings All-East Region Second Team on Wednesday.

The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. I All-America Committee.

The speedy Jenkins led the nation with 52 stolen bases and was named to the All-BIG EAST First Team for the second time in his career. A starter in center field for 55 games this season, he ranked second in the BIG EAST Conference with 70 hits and third with 42 runs scored. Proving his metal as a run producer as well, he ranked sixth in the conference with 35 runs batted in. Jenkins was named to the BIG EAST Weekly Honor Roll on March 28 after strong week, which included a game against Saint Peter’s when he went 3-for-4 with six stolen bases. He also had three hits and five stolen bases in a game vs. Monmouth earlier in the year.

Last weekend, Jenkins was selected in 26th round of the Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft by the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.

A First Team All-BIG EAST selection, McCarthy finished the 2016 season with nine straight quality starts. The right-hander was named BIG EAST Pitcher of the Week three times, and to the Weekly Honor Roll once. The highlight of his collegiate career to date came on April 15 vs. LIU-Brooklyn. McCarthy tossed the first perfect game in both Seton Hall and BIG EAST Conference history, sending down all 27 Blackbirds in order, striking out eight, and needing only 88 pitches to do it. He finished the season as the BIG EAST leader in earned run average, innings pitched and strikeouts. Proving the BIG EAST coaches correct, McCarthy was selected to the Preseason All-Conference Team in December.

The ABCA All-America committee is chaired by Dean Ehehalt of Monmouth University and also includes head coaches Mike Stone (Massachusetts), Brian O'Connor (Virginia), Tim Corbin (Vanderbilt), Steve Jaksa (Central Michigan), Dan Heefner (Dallas Baptist), Tommy Raffo (Arkansas State) and George Horton (Oregon).

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.