» «
Pirates Take Home Host of All-BIG EAST Honors

March 2, 2016

NEW YORK – Following a program-best performance at the 2016 BIG EAST Championships last week, 13 members of the Seton Hall swimming & diving squad have earned All-BIG EAST recognition the conference announced on Wednesday.

The 13 honorees combined to achieve All-Conference status a total of 35 times as the distinction was reserved for those who placed among the top-three in a championship final at the meet.

The Seton Hall contingent was led by two major award winners in sophomore Noah Yanchulis (Arnold, Md.) – who became just the second Pirate ever to be named Most Outstanding Male Swimmer – and senior Gabby Signorelli (Massapequa, N.Y.) who collected her third-straight Most Outstanding Female Diver Award after pushing her total to six gold medals with yet another sweep of the 1M and 3M diving events.

Yanchulis placed first in both the 200 and 500-free to increase his career total to three individual championships through two years. Overall, the sophomore was the top individual scorer of the meet with 57 points and garnered All-League accolades in a total of six events to lead 10 Seton Hall recipients on the men’s side and tie for second-most among all male swimmers at the competition. Only Xavier’s Knox Hitt collected more; posting an All-Conference mark in seven different events.

Freshman Lior Grubert (Yehud-Monosson, Israel) (200-IM, 400-IM) and sophomore Matt Zebrowski (Sayreville, N.J.) (200-fly) also made the climb to the top of the podium, helping the Seton Hall men record a total of four gold medals at the meet. Grubert achieved All-BIG EAST times in four events, tying for third most on the squad behind Yanchulis and standout freshman David Rowe (Cherry Hill, N.J.) who is now a five-time All-BIG EAST performer after just one trip to the conference stage.

Fellow newcomer Dakota Williams (Noank, Conn.) and sophomore Zohar Suslovich (Holon, Israel) also contributed four top-three efforts while Zebrowski joined classmate Sean Sali (Bridgewater, N.J.) and senior diver Eric Davidson (Overland, Park, Kan.) in finishing with two.

Freshman Kyle Nash (Katy, Texas) (200-fly) and sophomore Cody Wimmer (Macungie, Pa.) (1,650-free) each made their way onto the all-conference list with individual top-three finishes as well.

With a total of 28 All-BIG EAST worthy showings from a group of 10 different men’s team members that featured nine underclassmen, SHU head coach Ron Farina and staff were tabbed the best in the conference.

On the women’s side, Signorelli capped a historic run of six-straight championships with comfortable victories from both one and three meters while first-year diving coach Kayla Spinelli was selected as the Female Diving Coach of the Year.

Signorelli is now a six-time All-Conference performer and the only six-time champion in program history and the senior was joined on the All-BIG EAST list by classmate Megan Mallon (Glen Mills, Pa.) as well as 100-breast champion Sydney Simpson (Tallahassee, Fla.).

Mallon swam to a top-three finish in the 100-breast for the third-straight year, a race won by Simpson with a new school record time. The Tallahassee product was also the runner-up in the 200-breast and established a new 100-fly school record during a busy four days that featured a total of six new school records on the women’s side.

Junior Melody Bush (Guelph, Ontario) eclipsed her own previous program standard in the 100-back while freshman Courtney McCardle (Hurley, N.Y.) took down the 100-free mark.

McCardle and Bush teamed with Kat Carson (Katy, Texas) and Tessa Lindner (Sun Prairie, Wis.) to clock a new fastest 200-free relay time while the squad of Bush, Mallon, Lindner and McCardle posted a 200-medley relay mark that will go on the board as well.

Two new records were also established by the Seton Hall men as Zebrowski, Yanchulis, Rowe and Sali are the new 400-medley standard setters while Yanchulis, Williams, Grubert and Chris Tucker (Middletown, N.J.) came in under the previous 400-free relay mark to cap a highly successful year for both teams.


Most Outstanding Male Swimmer – Noah Yanchulis, Sophomore (Arnold, Md.)

Most Outstanding Female Diver – Gabby Signorelli, Senior (Massapequa, N.Y.)


Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year – Ron Farina (assistants Derek Sapp, Andrew LeBlanc)

Women’s Diving Coach of the Year – Kayla Spinelli


Megan Mallon, Seton Hall (100 Breast)

Gabby Signorelli, Seton Hall (1 Meter & 3 Meter Diving)**

Sydney Simpson, Seton Hall (100 Breast, 200 Breast)



Eric Davidson, Seton Hall (3 Meter Diving, 1 Meter Diving)

Lior Grubert, Seton Hall (200 IM, 400 IM, 200 Medley Relay, 400 Free Relay)

Kyle Nash, Seton Hall (200 Fly)

David Rowe, Seton Hall (100 Fly, 100 Back, 200 Medley Relay, 200 Free Relay, 400 Medley Relay)

Sean Sali, Seton Hall (100 Breast, 400 Medley Relay)

Zohar Suslovich, Seton Hall (100 Breast, 200 Back, 200 Medley Relay)

Dakota Williams, Seton Hall (100 Free, 200 Medley Relay, 200 Free Relay, 400 Free Relay)

Cody Wimmer, Seton Hall (1,650 Free)

Noah Yanchulis, Seton Hall (500 Free, 200 Free, 200 Breast, 200 Free Relay, 400 Medley Relay, 400 Free Relay)*

Matthew Zebrowski, Seton Hall (200 Fly, 400 Medley Relay)